Recent Posts
HomeNews2018 CAF Sports Awards Ceremony

2018 CAF Sports Awards Ceremony

By Christine Caron, Canadian Forces Morale and Welfare Services –

On 18 October, 2018, Canadian Morale and Welfare Services (CFMWS) hosted the 30th Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) Sports Awards Ceremony at the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa, honouring the best CAF athletes, coaches, officials and teams of the year.

In addition to honouring the best sports performances of the year, three military members were named to the CAF Sports Honour Roll for their exceptional sports careers, and two were presented with the Dedication to CAF Sports Award for their outstanding commitment to military sports.

The evening began with remarks from Lieutenant-General Michael Rouleau, Commander of Canadian Joint Operations Command (CJOC). He highlighted the important contribution sports play in the Canadian Armed Forces and went on to say:

“The military profession of arms requires our troops to be fit and resilient to succeed on difficult operations. The women and men that we are celebrating at the CAF Sports Awards embody the best of our ethos and we celebrate their excellence”.

In addition to honoured award recipients, two accomplished military athletes, Sub-Lieutenant Kyle Deveau of CFB Esquimalt and Warrant Officer Alain Chalifoux of CFB Greenwood, were featured in a short video entitled The Heart of Sports. The video highlighted the contribution of sports to physical ability, teamsmanship, family and community.


The CAF Sports Honour Roll inductees are:

  • Major Serge Faucher, Track and Field Athlete
  • Warrant Officer (Retired) Stan Poirier, Fastball Athlete
  • Sergeant Ivan Karin, Volleyball Athlete

The Dedication to CAF Sports Award winners are: 

  • Master Warrant Officer Chuck Harvey, Volleyball
  • Corporal Kevin Cardinal, Hockey

 The Achievement Award winners are:

  • Captain Sarah Graves, Female Athlete of the Year, Triathlon
  • Lieutenant-Colonel Eric Travis, Male Athlete of the Year, Triathlon
  • Captain Gérard Caron, Coach of the Year, Multi-sports
  • Captain Steven Stuart, Official of the Year, Volleyball
  • 3 Wing Bagotville Ball Hockey Team, Team of the Year

Congratulations to this year’s nominees and award winners! Visit for the pictures of the Ceremony and visit to learn more about all of this year’s outstanding nominees and award winners.

Photo: Courtesy of CFMWS Imagery

This post is also available in: Français (French)

No comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: