Recent Posts
HomeNewsLeadership76 Comms Regiment welcomes Honorary Colonel Jim Kyte

76 Comms Regiment welcomes Honorary Colonel Jim Kyte

By Matt Hammar, IM Group Communications –

On Monday, May 15, 76 Communication Regiment officially welcomed Gregory James (Jim) Kyte as the unit’s first ever Honorary Colonel.

At the scroll-signing ceremony held at the NDHQ WOs’ Sgts’ & POs’ Mess, Lieutenant-Colonel Corey Crosby, who initiated the request for Mr. Kyte to be the unit’s Honorary Colonel, expressed how the newly appointed Honorary Colonel embodies everything that the Canadian Armed Forces (CAF) believes in. He has demonstrated his tenacity for leadership and teamwork, his ability to overcome adversity, and his determination in furthering his education.

HCol Kyte, the only deaf player ever to play in the National Hockey League, and currently the Dean for the school of Hospitality and Tourism at Algonquin College, spoke about his close relationship with the CAF. After witnessing firsthand what many of his family members sacrificed to serve their country, HCol Kyte decided to visit CAF members overseas to thank them for their service. At his investiture ceremony, he expressed how even being “considered for this position is incredibly humbling.”

Honorary Colonels hold a special position in the CAF. They are the unit’s public face to develop support for their units and strengthen ties with the community. A key component of the appointment criteria for an honourary appointment is that the individual has expressed appreciation and support for the CAF while being influential in their community and demonstrating an affinity for mentoring.

LCol Crosby asserts that HCol Kyte exhibits all of these qualities and firmly believes that he is vital to the unit since he is a “natural leader, and that speaks volumes.”

Those in attendance for this special event included Lieutenant-General (ret’d) Guy Thibault, former VCDS, departing COS(IM), Major-General Greg Loos, and IM Group Branch Chief Warrant Officer, Chief Petty Officer 1st Class Jean Denis. The event also hosted the formal ceremony for CWO Pierre Paradis and CWO Danny Brassard who received their Chief Warrant Officer Scrolls signed by the Minister of National Defence.


This post is also available in: Français (French)

No comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: